Hmmm. I Guess the TV Guys Forgot to Bring a Dropcloth

Digital ImageThat’s the homeowner’s embroidered satin bed spread they’ve chosen to lay the big screen TV on. The mounting bracket for the TV got plopped on top of the homeowner’s shelving unit.

Added one day later: I posted this photo on the Facebook page of the National Guild of Professional Paperhangers (NGPP), and it received mixed comments. Some people thought it is perfectly OK, another pointed out that dropcloths can be dirtier than a television set, etc.

Here’s my take on it: We all know that the TV monitor is not going to do any damage to the bedspread. In fact, with the exception of priming (which can splatter) or stripping wallpaper (using lots of drippy water), there is little I do that will cause any damage to the client’s home.

Paper and plastic sheeting are expensive and time consuming. And I hate dropcloths, because they get all bunched up and snarled in the legs of the ladder, and most of the time they’re unnecessary anyway, because I leave my shoes at the front door and I keep cushioned booties on the feet of my ladder to avoid scratching floors, and the process of putting paper on a wall doesn’t result in much of anything getting on the floor. But you can bet that I put those dropcloths down before I start working!

You see, it boils down to the client’s perception that you are careful in her home, respectful of her belongings, and taking steps to ensure that everything stays safe and clean.

So, maybe there wasn’t really a need for a dropcloth or sheet under the monitor. But I think the homeowner would have appreciated the TV guys making a little effort to protect her bedspread – or, better yet, put the thing on the floor. With a dropcloth underneath it, of course.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Hmmm. I Guess the TV Guys Forgot to Bring a Dropcloth”

  1. davybaby Says:

    You’re right about it being a matter of perception, that’s for sure: I thought that the issue was the possibility of damage to the TV screen as a result of coming in contact with a non-microfiber fabric!

Leave a Reply

