Chirpy Birds and Cheery Color for a Little Girl’s Room

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image


Today I hung this bright, happy paper on an accent wall in a little girl’s bedroom, in the Highland Village area of Houston. It sure changed the all-white room into something cheery and fun!

The paper is in the EcoChic line of WallQuest. It was a little thicker and stiffer than most of the EcoChic papers I have worked with before, and I would have preferred the thinner paper. I also was not happy with the edges that got banged up in shipping – but they pretty well flatten out as the paper dries. The paper doesn’t have a coating, and it will stain easily, so the family will have to be careful to avoid touching it or splashing it. But since it’s behind the headboard, it will be well protected.

The paper was bought at a discounted price from Dorota Hartwig at Southwestern Paint on Bissonnet near Kirby. (713) 520-6262 or dorotasouthwestern@hotmail.com. Discuss your project and make an appointment before heading over to see her.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Chirpy Birds and Cheery Color for a Little Girl’s Room”

  1. Suzy Says:

    What kind of paint do you use on the wall before hanging dark paper and grasscloth? I have always just watercolered the seams to blend in the “white” edges.Suzygrubbs@yahoo

  2. thewallpaperlady Says:

    Hi Suzy. Thanks for reading my blog! I prime my walls with a wallpaper primer (not paint). I like Roman’s Ultra Prime Pro 977, or, as in this case, since I floated the walls, Gardz by Zinsser is a good sealer for joint compound.
    On this paper, there was no need to color the seams, the wall, or to worry about shrinkage / gapping. But when I do have a really dark paper or grasscloth, I might stripe the wall just under the seam with thinned down craft paint – like those plastic bottles you get at Michael’s for a dollar or two. Once dry, they stick well to the Ultra Prime or Gardz.
    I also might use charcoal or pastel on the edges of the paper, before pasting. I like this better than watercolor or acrylic craft paint, becaue those can bleed onto the surface of the paper.
    Are you a professional installer? What part of the country do you work in?

Leave a Reply

