One Really Fun, Cheery, Cheek-Bursting Wallpaper Design

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image

Digital Image


This homeowner has a vibrant personality – yet all of the walls in her home were bland and boring. She is coming up on a significant birthday, and is planning a huge bash. She wanted to get this powder room gussied up, to both reflect her spunky personality, and to impress her friend who would be coming to the party.

Oh, and she also likes the color purple.

This wallpaper pattern fills the bill in many ways. For starters, it is lively and fun. The scale of the pattern works quite nicely with the width and height of the walls. Next, it is way colorful. And it has the homeonwer’s favorite color – purple.

Originally, we were going to paper the walls from floor to ceiling. But the homeowner anticipated that the busy pattern might be overwhelming if spread over 8′ of wall height. Good call!

So I hung the paper from the ceiling down to 34″ from the floor. (Three feet is a pretty standard height for a chair rail.) The homeowner will have the bottom 1/3 of the walls painted, probably a rich grey. Next, a chair rail will be added around the middle of the room.

I am encouraging the homeowner to paint this molding a vibrant purple.

I guess we’ll have to wait and see what color she decides to use.

I am confident that she will land on the perfect colors, and the powder room will be looking stellar in time for her Bog Birthday Bash.

This wallpaper is by York, in their Cary Lind design line, and in their Sure Strip material line (one of my favorites). It was bought from from Dorota Hartwig at Southwestern Paint on Bissonnet near Kirby. (713) 520-6262 or dorotasouthwestern@hotmail.com. She is great at helping you find just the perfect paper!

My client said, “I went in there confident that I knew what I wanted – but I just wanted to see what else was out there. I advised Dorota what I was looking for, and when I got to the store, she had books marked and waiting for me. But every time I’d fall in love with a pattern, Dorota would walk up to me, holding a new book with new patterns.

Discuss your project and make an appointment before heading over to see her.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

