Ringing The Bell At The Wrong House!

Funny story.  I visit clients and do consultations on Sunday afternoons.  Yesterday I went to visit a long-time and many-time client (going back to the ‘90’s!) in their new one-story home (easier living for retirement-age folk).  I rang the doorbell, but no one answered.  This was odd, because my Sunday appointments are usually waiting for me, and I had texted my arrival time a few minutes prior.   I persisted, and eventually a man opened the door. 
This was not the guy I’ve worked with over 30 years.  Nor was he the right age.  Maybe he was a guest or a relative. I said, “I’m here for wallpaper .”  He replied, “Wallpaper?  We’ve been waiting for you,” and held the door open. I took a half a step in, and realized I was looking at a familiar space. 
The man said, “You hung this wallpaper in our art niche a few years ago.”  I remembered … it was a lovely faux cork.  I also did another room in the house, a powder room, as I remember.  But, obviously, he wasn’t in need of wallpaper at this moment.  I asked, “Is this Sween Street?”  He said, “Yes.”  I asked, “Is this 2501?”  I showed him my typed-up job ticket, which read “2501.”  He said, “Yes.” 
Well, this was puzzling.  But obviously my client had given me the wrong address.  Or something.  I apologized and walked back to my van.  Called my client.  Turns out the correct address, which got confused because they had only lived there a short time, was 2401.  I proceeded to drive a few doors down and found the right home and right client. 
Oddly, I have no idea why the guy at the wrong house said, “We’ve been waiting for you.”  I guess he recognized me, or saw the signs on my van, and was just being nice, or making a joke.  Who knows?  I’m glad that, at least, he didn’t think I was a suspicious character.  Or an axe murderer. 

installer houston

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment